Posted in Zafu #LifeBeyondStigma

A Poem on Dementia : Spread the word

 

 

 

 

Maybe

When I wander…………………………………

don’t tell me to come and sit down ;

wander with me,

it may be because I am hungry, thirsty, need the toilet,

or, maybe I just need to stretch my legs……….

When I call for my mother………(even though I’m ninety!)

don’t tell me she has died;

reassure me, cuddle me, ask me about her.

It may be that I am looking for the security that my mother

once gave.

When I shout out……………..

please don’t ask me to be quiet……or walk by

I am trying to tell you something,

but have difficulty in telling you what

be patient…………Try to find out,

I may be in pain……….

When I become agitated or appear angry,

Please don’t reach for the drugs first ;

I am trying to tell you something,

It may be too hot….. too bright……too noisy,

Or maybe it’s because I am missing my loved ones.

Try to find out……first……

When I don’t eat my dinner or drink my tea……

It may be because I’ve forgotten how to;

Show me the what to do….remind me,

It may be that I just need to hold my knife and fork

I may know what to do then………

When I push you away when you trying to help me……,

A wash, perhaps, or getting dressed.

Maybe it’s because I have forgotten what you 

 have said;

Keep telling me what you are doing…….,

Over and over and over…………

Maybe others will think you’re the one that needs the help!

With all my thoughts and maybe’s,

Perhaps it will be you…..who reaches my thoughts……

Understands my fears and will make me feel safe…..

Maybe it will be you…..that I need to thank

If only I knew how……………..

Maybe, just Maybe………

P.S : Dementia is a general term used to describe symptoms of a large group of illness which cause decline in person’s cognition and affects  activities of daily living, memory and social skills.It can happen to anyone but become most common in people during the age of 60 or above.

Care for your elders ,respect them and their problems.Your love might be the best cure for them.

Spread the word ,make others smile and never let smile fall off from your face even.

 

Author:

Writings By Payal Tyagi is cherishing by optimistic thoughts on experiences every person gets through in journey called life.If you love to read varied memoirs chunks with poetry, quotes, stories having motivational message behind ,this blog is waiting for you.

6 thoughts on “A Poem on Dementia : Spread the word

  1. this makes me smile and sad at the same time! Elderly people are not that been taken care off unlike in some other culture. As i migrated in north america, I observed that some of them are okay to leave their parents in a nursing home. I really feel bad about them being left behind. Their condition is nobody’s fault but if we could just take time to take care for them most especially on their situation, the smile that they give to us brings all the tiredness away! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

